Resources that don’t exist.

This is the post excerpt.

Many people adhere to a broad pattern in their lives. They grow up. They find themselves, prepared or not, living in the world independently. Especially here in the States, many people find themselves at this point somewhere in young adulthood – some even earlier. A vast majority of these people are going to move once or twice. But they’re going to find a great job or a relationship to pursue – or both! Some people want to create families with children.

And eventually, maybe only a few years after they’ve moved out, maybe only after they finish college. . . they want to settle down. Buy a house, sign a long term rent or lease.

That’s not my narrative.

I have a job in the entertainment industry. I move about twice a year – especially in the summer, when live entertainment festivals of all kinds pop up.

I’m writing this from my apartment where I’ve lived for 6 months. I’m already planning another cross country move in the next 3 months. I might move back here in the fall, but I don’t know yet. And, what’s more, I’m not paying rent on an empty apartment for the entire summer.

Here’s my goal: to document the unease, anxiety, and preparation of moving. To provide tips for maintaining “my space” wherever I find myself living. To create resources for making moving easier for people with all kind of abilities or lack there of.

Unboxing (heh) the overwhelming-ness of moving all the time.

_PR

Leave a Reply

